History of the S.J.I.Y.F.A.

The league was founded Marh 8th 1990 and was named The South Jersey Independent Youth Football Association. The first officers were President Bob Haessler of Maple Shade, Vice President Jerry Goldberg of Edgewater Park, Treasurer Tony Salamon of Winslow Twp. The secretary was added March 13th 1990 Ron Carrothers of Riverside.

On March 22nd the first general meeting was held. Five teams committed, they were as follows, Edgewater Park, Maple Shade, Riverside, National Park, Winslow Twp. The original franchise fee was $100.00.

The weights were:
70LB-6,7,8,--9 after August 1st
95LB-9,10,11--12 after August 1st
115LB-11,12,13--14 after August 1st
135LB-12,13,14--15 after August 1st

In may of 1990 three other teams joined the league they were Bellmawr, Burlington Twp, and Westville. On September 16th 1990 the first games were played.

The Champions were as follows:
70LB-Edgewater Park
95LB-Winslow Twp.
115LB-Winslow Twp.

In 1991 Atco joined the league. In 1992 the allstar games were established and now the league has 13 teams and 6 weight divisions.

60LB-5,6--7 after September 1st
75LB-7,8--9 after September 1st
90LB-9,10--11 after September 1st
105LB-11,12--13 after September 1st
125LB-13,14--15 after September 1st
JR. High-13,14--15 after September 1st but can not be in high school. Only up to eigth grade.